Drugstore Matte Liquid Lipstick Review: ColourPop, NYX, Sephora,etc…

20170506_093609 edit.jpg

When it comes to my lipstick preference, I usually lean towards the matte liquid lipstick formula. This year I had the chance to try many different lipstick brands, some drugstore, and others high-end. For this post, I decided to focus on the more affordable brands who carry matte liquid lipsticks.

Before I start this post I want to state that this is my personal opinion based on my experience. The products mentioned below have been tested over and over for the past months, so it is not a first impressions point of view 

20141025_134052 edit.jpg

1- L’Oreal Paris Infallible Matte Lip Paint

I purchased this lipstick a few months ago from Feel 22. I had no expectations, I simply wanted to test a new shade for spring and summer. Color wise, I really really loved this lipstick, I always find myself reaching for it on a daily basis. However, if you’re looking for a matte lipstick that will last you all day this is not it. True, it is a matte liquid formula, but it is more of a super moisturizing formula that fades off 30 mins later, so you need to re-apply many times during the day. I have noticed that it tends to last longer if I use a lip-liner below, so that might help

You can purchase this lipstick on this link http://bit.ly/2qdcYzS

20170506_093355 edit.jpg

2- ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip

When I first saw the ColourPop Ultra Matte bundles on Feel 22 I was so impressed with the color range and the prices. I wanted to buy a pack but the products were immediately sold out. Eventually I had the chance to buy the Up and Away bundle that consisted on nudes and oranges. The name of this collection says it all, it is ultra matte, and they weren’t joking at all when they came up with this name. I really hated the formula of this lipstick; it’s super matte to the extent that it starts falling off during the day. It also left me with extreme chapped lips the next day so that didn’t encourage me to re-use the product at all. My only solution to prevent the falling off/chapped lips situation was to use lip balm before applying the lipstick and I could honestly see an improvement. If you really want to try the Ultra Matte range, I highly encourage you to use lip balm before.

20170506_093216 edit.jpg

3- Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain

I have mentioned this product over and over on my blog and it is still a favorite of mine! The color I use (Marvelous Mauve) is perfect for my skin tone, I use it for all occasions and it never fails to impress me. The formula is just excellent, I never experience any chapped lips and it stays on for the entire day even after I eat or drink.

The color I use is currently sold out on Feel 22, but you can try other colors as seen in this link http://bit.ly/2pjB1bx

4- NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

Out of all the products previously mentioned, this is my most recent acquisition as NYX recently launched in Lebanon during Jamalouki Con. I applied this lipstick every single day for the past 2 weeks so I guess I have a final review by now.  I can fairly say that this lipstick comes between the L’Oreal Lip Paint and the Sephora Lip Stain. It doesn’t fade away quickly, but is it moisturizing and “less matte” just like the L’Oreal lipstick. The color and the formula is perfect for everyday use, so I do recommend it if you’re not looking for a super matte formula.

I hope you enjoyed this type of post! For more updates follow me on Instagram & Facebook

Lara xx

4 thoughts on “Drugstore Matte Liquid Lipstick Review: ColourPop, NYX, Sephora,etc…

Leave a Reply

